Mission: Paris

Toward the end of June I was told to pack a bag and to hop on an aeroplane to Paris for a couple of days of meetings. So I popped the important things in my bag (a passport and a camera) and headed off.

At the end of the first day I was sat in my hotel room looking out the window and noticed that I could see the Eiffel Tower on the horizon. Spending the evening of the year’s longest day alone in a hotel is not the most fun thing to do. So I set myself a mission; to navigate my way to the Eiffel Tower with only a camera to keep me company.

As I walked through Clichy I happened upon a lot of live music. My luck was in as tonight was La Fête de la Musique. This meant every bar and street corner had a band or DJ playing for assembled crowds.

As I followed the streets I occasionally stopped to check out a band.

La Fête de la Musique, Clichy, Paris, France, June 21 2011

La Fête de la Musique, Clichy, Paris, France, June 21 2011

The closer I got to the centre of Paris, the less live music I found. And so my pace increased.

The daylight was becoming dim as I began to wonder if I had taken a wrong turn. But then I spotted the Arc De Triomph at the top of a hill. I followed the street up to the monument in hope that I would be able to find the Eiffel tower from there.

Eiffel Tower in the distance

The Eiffel Tower from the Arc De Triomphe

And there it was!

With renewed energy my adventure was back on track. I headed onward towards the goal, along tree-lined avenues until …

The Eiffel Tower

Nearly there, my first view of the whole Eiffel Tower

Down some steps, across a bridge and I was nearly there …

Eiffel Tower from the Passerelle Debilly

Heading across the Passerelle Debilly to the Eiffel Tower

Then I made it! I was under the Eiffel Tower. Without a map, having caught some great live music and seeing some of the city.

I shot a lot of images, enjoyed the scale of the attraction and the atmosphere created by hundreds of excited tourists. Then I headed home on the Metro, but that’s a whole other story …

The Eiffel Tower reflected in a puddle

The Eiffel Tower reflected in a puddle

Leave a Reply

